Conventions & Mini-Meets

2021 Virtual convention program schedule – june 26, 2021!

The Society is pleased to announce the schedule for its Second Virtual Convention to be held on Saturday, June 26, 2021 from 11:00 am to 5:45 pm EDT.

Time Topic Presenter
11:00 AM EDT/10:00 AM CDT/9:00 AM MDT/8:00 AM PDT Welcome/Introduction Eric Hiser
11:15 AM EDT/10:15 AM CDT/9:15 AM MDT/8:15 AM PDT Clinic: BNSF Art Collection Bradley Houston
12:15 PM EDT/11:15 AM CDT/10:15 AM MDT/9:15 AM PDT Clinic: Modeling ATSF GP39-2s Mike Tomei
1:15 PM EDT/12:15 PM CDT/11:15 AM MDT/10:15 AM PDT Break/Slide show Eric Hiser
1:45 PM EDT/12:45 PM CDT/11:45 AM MDT/10:45 AM PDT Clinic: Memories of the New Mexico Transcon Evan Werkema
2:45 PM EDT/1:45 PM CDT/12:45 PM MDT/11:45 AM PDT Annual Business Meeting Paul Brown
5:45 PM EDT/4:45 PM CDT/3:45 PM MDT/2:45 PM PDT Close Eric Hiser

Bradley Houston is an art advisor at C2Art Advisors and works with the BNSF collection

Mike Tomei is the Society’s Vice President and a well-known modeler of modern diesels

Evan Werkema is a member of the Society and is well known for his extensive knowledge of things Santa Fe

Back up clinic is Trains 13 and 14 by Bob Walz

Registration Fee is $10.00.  Register HERE.

Future Conventions

The Society is planning Annual Conventions at the following locations:

  • 2022: June:  Kansas City, MO, contact Mike Tomei

Past Convention Reports

Read about other prior Annual Conventions and see what members did, learned, and showed!

Reports on other past conventions and Mini-Meets
List of all International conventions

Model Contest

The model contest is divided into two groups: a popular vote contest and a technical contest. In the popular vote contest, all models participate and compete for first, second and third place ribbons and “Best of Show” based on the number of votes that they receive from attendees. Popular vote categories include steam locomotive; diesel locomotive; multiple unit diesel locomotive; freight car; passenger car; intermodal equipment (cars and support equipment); caboose/way car; maintenance of way; and structure/diorama.  In the technical contest, models are judged by interested members based on prototype fidelity (10 points), modeling effort and proficiency (10 points) and finish and weathering (5 points), with 22 points required for a Certificate of Technical Excellence, 18 points for a Certificate of Technical Merit, and the best overall model scoring 22 points or more receiving the President’s Award for Technical Excellence.  Technical contest categories include: motive power; rolling stock; and structures.

If you would like to learn more about the Model Contest, click on the following links:

Model Photo Contest

The Society also sponsors a “model photo” contest where participants recreate the Santa Fe in model form and then photograph it. You can see the ATSF entry form here and BNSF entry form here.

Society Mini-Meets

Our Mini-Meets are regional based gatherings generally one half to one day long on a Saturday. Interested members have organized these meets in areas not regularly visited by our conventions allowing us to reach the East Coast and the Pacific Northwest.  A mini meet may include;

  • Clinics by experts on various aspects of Santa Fe history and modeling.  Some of these clinics are “warm ups'” for a presenter who will be at a future Annual Convention.
  • Models on display for close up viewing and discussions with the builder.
  • Networking with fellow Society members who live close by and a good way to attract new members.

Upcoming Mini-Meets

The Society’s minimeets have been cancelled or postponed due to the COVID-19 situation.  As soon as we learn of the next scheduled event, we will post here.  Please send us your planned mini-meets so other Santa Fe fans can attend!

We are looking for a new Southern California Mini-Meet coordinator.  If interested, contact mailto:Pres@atsfrr.net.

SFRH&MS Mini-meets

other meets